Second go round

So, the first seed batch did not sprout.  It has been more than three weeks and not a sign of green.  I dug around a bit and found excellent worms in the soil, nice plump apple seeds, and not a green sprout or even white shoot in sight.  I have not totally given up, as these could be….late bloomers, but I am going to try again.

There are of course many variables to growth.  For this next round I will not plant one eggcarton but four.  I have created better drainage, as mold is always an issue for plants. I have also placed some seeds through a freeze cycle. That is easy in Chicago this year.  In fact it is snowing at the moment.

Let’s hope my work in service of the seeds is successful.

Leave a Reply

